How to apply eyeliner: My favorite beauty vloggers

While I love my mother dearly, I have to admit that she taught me nothing about makeup. I have been fascinated by makeup since childhood, but lacking a makeup fiend mom to teach me the ways of the mascara wand, I had to learn things myself, and it wasn’t always pretty. In high school, I was known for my Egyptian style eyeliner and my Revlon Rum Raisin lipstick. However, I didn’t always look amazing. I really didn’t learn how to control my hair until college, so it was a frizzy ball of straight waves throughout high school.

DSC_8787

Image reused with permission from Shannon Bement Photography.

All of that changed when I faked my way into a job as a makeup artist at Bare Escentuals while I was in college. It was 2002, and the chain only had 4 retail locations in the country. Most of our foot traffic came from infomercials, so it wasn’t really hard to sell. Working there introduced me to one of my best friends, Sarah, who is the most amazing eye makeup technician. She taught me the art of subtlety, and with it, my eyeliner shrunk considerably. It now looks natural and pretty rather than a nod to Nefertiti.

If you’re not fortunate enough to have a Sarah in your life, there are now a billion You Tube tutorials from which to choose. I’ve rounded up my top 5 beauty vloggers. Check them out, and you’ll be on your way to glam!

1. Makeup Geek

Makeup Geek Marlena is so popular, she’s even launched her own line of products. Her tutorials are fun and easy to follow. She’s also super creative, so there are looks for a wide variety of situations.

2. Jaclyn Hill

I like Jaclyn because she’s also fun to watch and easy to follow. Her channel offers tips, product reviews, tutorials and more, so check her out if you really need to learn how to do something, or simply want to hear about a product before you try it.

3. Naseem Delan

Naseem is all about uber glam, and it doesn’t hurt that she is a stunning person. She offers a lot of tips that you can use to step up your look a few notches. Her site also features product reviews and a fit diary. It’s great for those who like a well-rounded lifestyle vlog.

4. Makeup Game on Point

Jackie Aina is a Nigerian makeup artist from Southern California who knows how to rock many makeup looks. Her blog is well organized, fun to look at and highly informative. Her Youtube page is a great resource for African American women who are looking for products, tips and tricks, and includes everything from celeb-inspired makeup looks to fun fashion videos.

5. Sprinkle of Glitter

Another lifestyle blog courtesy of British mum Louise, Sprinkle of Glitter adds humor and helpful tips on everything, along with several informative makeup tutorials. If you like your beauty with a fun twist or like watching other people live their lives, check out this blog.

I hope you all find these vloggers as fun and helpful as I do. Who is your favorite beauty blogger? Let me know in the comments section!

 

Leave a Reply

