Smile and Nod

CFW

Models always make it look easy.

While catching up on ‘Project Runway All Stars,’ I found myself faced with a conundrum, that I am sure befalls many who consider themselves to be fashion forward. The first challenge of the season was to create a look inspired by “punk.” The second was the “avant garde” challenge. As could be expected, each designer went in a completely different direction when creating their look.

I think that this is a common problem with those who want to be trendy and stylish. Too many times, editors throw around vague terms like “punk,” and it’s up to us to interpret it. When I think of punk in particular, I visualize high school and college, where people who went to NOFX, Blink 182, Offspring and Pennywise concerts in baggy jeans, wallet chains and Doc Martens. The goal of these shows wasn’t to look the best, it was to keep yourself from getting trampled in the mosh pit.

When the uber fashionable adopt trends like these, there’s a fine line between rocking it and looking like a poseur. I think that the key is to combine elements from the style with pieces that flatter both your body and the piece. It’s hard to do this well. I recently attempted to incorporate some noveau punk into my wardrobe by picking up a pair of plaid skinny pants at Mango. This turned out to be a huge mistake. I love plaid, but my short legs and bubble butt make it necessary to wear it in a more flattering cut and color.

Fashion isn’t always clear cut, and finding a style can be hard. Remember brightly colored cropped cargo pants that were oh so popular in the early 2000s? Being a fashion writer who routinely attends events makes me question my style… a lot. I have always felt like I’m on the fringes of the outside, and I often wonder what people are thinking about my clothes when I walk into a room. It’s a topic that is definitely worth exploring.

Leave a Reply

