Fall TV: Who’s My New Inspiration?

Blake Lively

Image Credit: Janet Mayer / PRPhotos.com

When Gossip Girl went off the air last year, my television wardrobe inspirations were taken off the air with it. I know that there are several stylish ladies on TV, but it’s just not the same as ogling the outfits Serena and Blair were rocking on the Upper East Side. Although the show made its debut in 2007, I still turn to Season One for outfit inspirations, on occasion.

Now that it’s September, there is a new crop of shows starting, so it has me wondering which one will become my new fashion inspiration. Sure, there are CW staples like The Vampire Diaries and Hart of Dixie, but the thing I liked about GG was that fashion was as much a character in the show as S and B.

Now that I’ve finished mourning the loss of my favorite fashion girls in December, it’s time to start looking for suitable replacements whom I can steal (*ahem*) be inspired by. Here are some of the nominees.

Cece from New Girl: Sure, lots of hipsters and quirky girls salivate over what Jess wears on the reg. However, my style is more like Cece. I love her cool, mod style that includes lots of sleek lines and body con clothing. In this week’s episode, she wears a cute, color blocked tank from Trouve.

The Cast of Devious Maids: This little guilty pleasure crept up on me over the summer. The maids and the employers all manage to look amazing. Looks from Free People, Haute Hippie and Joie have made their way into this show. It’s a little over dramatic and sorta cheesy, but it’s all in good fun.

Camilla from Dads: Vanessa Minnillo plays Giovanni Ribisi’s adorable wife in this new Fox show. Although I’ve only seen the pilot, I totally dug her William Sonoma apron. She also wears clothes that are stylish and sexy, but age appropriate. Since V and I are around the same age, I think that she’s a good style role model for me.

The Cast of Revenge: Set in the uber posh world of The Hamptons, Revenge is probably the best substitute wardrobe for Gossip Girl. This show has it all — from the stylish older socialite (played by Madeleine Stowe) to younger fashionistas. Featuring looks from designers like Michael Kors, Helmut Lang, Stella McCartney and more, this show features some seriously slobber-worthy styling.

Who are your tv faves? Let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

