Small Town Fashion

DSCN0126I currently reside in the Denver Metro area, and although our city has come a long way in the past couple of decades, we still aren’t known as a fashion mecca. I mean, people wear jeans to the theater here… JEANS (unacceptable in my book). I grew up in an even smaller town outside of the Metro area, and needless to say, most of my classmates did not appreciate my fashion sense. Well, my girl friends appreciated the 5″ platforms that were so popular in the Spice Girl heyday, but in my senior yearbook, I was cited as “owns the strangest pair of shoes.”

It’s hard to be on the edge of fashion when you are surrounded by people who don’t exactly share your vision. When you’ve wallpapered your bathroom with past Vogue covers, and your role models include Anna Wintour, Nina Garcia and Grace Coddington, it’s easier to fit in in New York, L.A., London or any other fashionable city. Growing up, my fashion sense was pretty hit or miss. Sometimes, I totally rocked the latest styles, but most of the time, I was just cold. Oversized sweat shirts and jackets made up the bulk of my wardrobe. In college, I came into my own and started paying attention to what looked good on me and what I liked. Armed with essentials from Express, Wet Seal, American Eagle, Guess and more, I looked fly in my bedazzled bandana tops and butterfly hair clips (I even tried vinyl pants, which I would NOT recommend if you plan on spending the night dancing to techno music).

Even though my city is stylish enough to provide me access to a lot of fashion, it wasn’t always so. We didn’t even get H&M until 2011… In high school and the early days of college, I relied on catalogs like Delia’s and Victoria’s Secret to keep me outfitted in clothes I liked. What’s a fashion forward girl to do if she lives in a city where the closest place to find clothes is the Retail Rodeo? (if you don’t know what I’m talking about, check out The Good Girl from 2002.)

These days, the internet makes anything accessible. If you’re a Lucky girl living in a Levi’s world, take advantage of internet shopping. Or better yet, take up sewing and make your own clothes. You can order patterns or make your own. In the 21st century, there are not as many barriers to finding clothing. Big city style is a mere click away. Even small town girls can look like extras from Gossip Girl.

Leave a Reply

